Coverart for item
The Resource A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps, Chris West

A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps, Chris West

Label
A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps
Title
A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps
Statement of responsibility
Chris West
Title variation
History of America in 36 postage stamps
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "DISCOVER THE INCREDIBLE STORY OF AMERICA THROUGH ITS BEAUTIFUL AND DIVERSE POSTAGE STAMPS IN THIS EXUBERANT AND ALWAYS CHARMING HISTORY. In A History of America in Thirty-six Postage Stamps, Chris West explores America's own rich philatelic history. From George Washington's dour gaze to the charging buffalo of the western frontier and Lindbergh's soaring biplane, American stamps are a vivid window into our country's extraordinary and distinctive past. With the always accessible and spirited West as your guide, discover the remarkable breadth of America's short history through a fresh lens. On their own, stamps can be curiosities, even artistic marvels; in this book, stamps become a window into the larger sweep of history. "--
  • "In A History of America in Thirty-six Postage Stamps, Chris West (author of A History of Britain in Thirty-six Postage Stamps) makes the leap across the Atlantic to take on America's own rich philatelic history. From George Washington's dour gaze to the charging buffalo of the western frontier, to Lindbergh's soaring biplane, American stamps are a vivid window into our country's extraordinary and distinctive past. With the always accessible and spirited West as your guide, discover the remarkable breadth of America's short history through a fresh lens. On their own, stamps can be curiosities, even artistic marvels; in this book, stamps become a window into the larger sweep of history. - With deckle edge and full-color reproductions throughout - For fans of A History of the World in 100 Objects and Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey - A perfect gift for patriots, philatelists, and armchair historians"--
Summary
"DISCOVER THE INCREDIBLE STORY OF AMERICA THROUGH ITS BEAUTIFUL AND DIVERSE POSTAGE STAMPS IN THIS EXUBERANT AND ALWAYS CHARMING HISTORY. In A History of America in Thirty-six Postage Stamps, Chris West explores America's own rich philatelic history. From George Washington's dour gaze to the charging buffalo of the western frontier and Lindbergh's soaring biplane, American stamps are a vivid window into our country's extraordinary and distinctive past. With the always accessible and spirited West as your guide, discover the remarkable breadth of America's short history through a fresh lens. On their own, stamps can be curiosities, even artistic marvels; in this book, stamps become a window into the larger sweep of history. "--
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10377329
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
973
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
HE6183.U54
LC item number
W47 2014
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps, Chris West
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/689/9781250043689/image/lgcover.9781250043689.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Liberty, property, and no stamps! -- The British are going -- We, the people... -- Emperor of liberty -- Born for a storm -- Manifest destiny -- The rebel yell -- Forever free -- Iron horse, wild west -- Reconstruction -- Number one -- Dance of the ghosts -- Painted lilies -- Bully for TR! -- Making the world safe for democracy -- Golden beginnings -- Roar! -- Brother, can you spare a dime? -- New deal, new day -- Sulphur island -- Toward disunited nations -- Rocking and rolling -- Cold war -- Murder in Camelot -- Dreams and nightmares -- The longest war -- The discovery of Earth -- New revolutions -- Stumbling through the '70s -- Mr. Reagan goes to Washington -- A new world order? -- Boom! -- The valley of heart's delight -- Under attack -- The China syndrome -- Bowling alone
Control code
5707744
Dimensions
  • illustrations
  • 22 cm
Extent
xii, 336 pages
Isbn
9781250043689
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014033396
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn868276570
  • (OCoLC)868276570
Label
A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps, Chris West
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/689/9781250043689/image/lgcover.9781250043689.jpg
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Liberty, property, and no stamps! -- The British are going -- We, the people... -- Emperor of liberty -- Born for a storm -- Manifest destiny -- The rebel yell -- Forever free -- Iron horse, wild west -- Reconstruction -- Number one -- Dance of the ghosts -- Painted lilies -- Bully for TR! -- Making the world safe for democracy -- Golden beginnings -- Roar! -- Brother, can you spare a dime? -- New deal, new day -- Sulphur island -- Toward disunited nations -- Rocking and rolling -- Cold war -- Murder in Camelot -- Dreams and nightmares -- The longest war -- The discovery of Earth -- New revolutions -- Stumbling through the '70s -- Mr. Reagan goes to Washington -- A new world order? -- Boom! -- The valley of heart's delight -- Under attack -- The China syndrome -- Bowling alone
Control code
5707744
Dimensions
  • illustrations
  • 22 cm
Extent
xii, 336 pages
Isbn
9781250043689
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014033396
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn868276570
  • (OCoLC)868276570

Library Locations

    • Rockmart BranchBorrow it
      316 North Piedmont Avenue Building 201, Rockmart, GA, 30153, US
      33.999054 -85.041397
    • Rome BranchBorrow it
      205 Riverside Parkway Ne, Rome, GA, 30161-2922, US
      34.258381 -85.168404

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...